Home

I don’t know about you, but I’m not usually a fan of the Academy Awards. Politics, going against the grain, all that other cliché crap aside, Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit won an Oscar over Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children in 2006, and I will never forget it. I recommend you watch the two of the movies back to back and judge for yourself.

My own prejudice aside, I am a movie fan, and the list of nominees usually has a few great movies that slipped under my radar. This year was no exception. I was checking out who made the cut for Best Animation this year. Ever since Disney swallowed up Pixar, this category has been dominated by 3D fully-rendered kiddie films. Now don’t get me wrong, most of them are pretty entertaining. However, I’ll always have a soft spot in my heart for classic 2D goodness. You can chock that one up to Super Nintendo, but I digress. I noticed a title on there that caught my eye: The Secret of Kells. I was hooked from the first moment I watched the trailer. I spent Saturday night watching it with my wife and it was a wonderful experience.

Without giving away too much, it is a story focused on the Book of Kells, Ireland’s most prized possession, and how it came into existence. It explores the theme of how contemporary religion, specifically Christianity, came to the world and also  humanity’s shamanistic origins. It’s incredibly cinematic in this respect. The animation is gorgeous, as well, and it all ties into Celtic symbology.

I give it a 4 out of 5, but don’t take my word for it! Netflix it, rent it, or download it today!

Leave a Reply

