Home

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted on this thing. I must have a dozen half-written posts with spatters of  word mess sitting unpublished on my computer. That’s all going to change.

I have a nice group of friends that like to get together on the weekends and play some D&D. It’s always nice to get together since I don’t get out of the house much during the week except for work, running errands, or grocery shopping. About a month ago, before we got into our game we were all complaining about how out of shape we had become. We knew we only had ourselves to blame and how we need to start getting back on the exercise wagon. However, it is one thing to talk about exercising and eating right and another to actually do it. We wrapped up our session and everyone went home.

I had a medical check-up earlier this year and I knew that I was putting my heart through the wringer with my poor routine of overeating and as little motion as possible. It gets incredibly hot and humid here over the summer, and cutting down on the minimal physical activity I was doing didn’t help. I couldn’t stop thinking about our talk and how I could come up with a way we could motivate each other to exercise regularly even though we live far apart.

Ultimately, I came up with a plan that placated to our competitive and our gamer sides in an effort to substitute self-motivation for something much more powerful: victory. After discussing it as a group, we streamlined the idea and came up with a system to gauge our progress. The three main categories are:

  1. weight loss by percentage (weight lost / original weight)
  2. Fitocracy XP (an excellent site that rewards XP based on how much you exercise)
  3. achievement points (still being figured out)

The deadline to accomplish these goals is Christmas. In the end, the winner is the person who ranks the highest out of all three categories and they are entitled to one free game from each of the competitors. Not too shabby, am I right? The best part of this is that after almost 3 weeks everyone is going strong and doing an excellent job keeping up with it. Things are working exactly as I had hoped. I’ve already lost over 10 pounds, but my overall goal is to lose 60 by Christmas. Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Recent Changes

    • You know how weight loss goes. Given the holiday season, I’ve been eating a ton of food, but I have been exercising at least 3 times a week so I’m slowly strengthening myself again! I feel a lot better, too. If I’m gonna win this contest, I’ll probably have to switch to boot camp mode and start upping the ante to 5 times a week. How about you, missy?

Leave a Reply

