Home

I’m looking at the clock in the corner of the computer screen.  It’s telling me I have to wake up and get ready for a meeting in 7 hours.  I guess that’s really not that bad except I can’t seem to get my mind to shut up for longer than 30 seconds.

I had to good fortunate of learning I was rejected from all 3 of the graduate programs I applied to.  The impending rejection notices were not unexpected.  The longer I waited for the results the more and more I contemplated how poor of an option I must look considering my subpar grade average and my lack of background in the field I want to eventually work in.  What frustrates me more, though, is the apparent necessity for everyone applying to doctoral programs in linguistics to have a Masters in linguistics, yet only 20% of the schools I researched offered Masters programs in linguistics.  Their websites beg to differ.

“You don’t need to have a Masters to apply to the doctoral program, you just need to have a good idea of exactly which area in linguistics you want to spend the next 5 years focusing your studies so we can determine if that lines up with what we want to teach you over the next 5 years.”

Tell how, exactly, I’m suppose to do this again?  It would appear my natural ability to absorb the cultural lifeforce from any being I spend time with is not tangible enough to aid me in this plight.  Alas!  I must now spend the next 9 months working towards an education in linguistics so that I might be able to pursue an education in linguistics.  The old adage keeps coming to mind:

“Life sucks, and then you die.”

 

Leave a Reply

